What do I purchase when I open a position on eToro?

Please note that some of the instruments on the eToro platform are traded as real assets, while others use CFDs. CFD stands for Contract for Difference.

All non-leveraged BUY positions for ETFs, cryptocurrencies (since 3 September 2017) and stocks (since April 2018) are traded as real assets*. Commodities, indices and currencies are traded using CFDs.

CFDs are specialized and popular Over The Counter (OTC) financial products that allow traders to easily take broad market positions in a variety of different financial markets. It also means that we are obligated to follow price movements, and look at our client’s P&L according to what really happened in the market on the same instrument. This allows trading indices, commodities and other instruments without actually buying the underlying asset. 

Keep in mind that if you hold a CFD stock position, you do not actually own the stock or hold any rights shareholders have. Nonetheless, should the company issue dividends, your balance will be updated in accordance with your holdings. Any CFD trade will be marked 'CFD' in the trade line. 

*Please note that Italian exchange stocks and trades opened by users resident in the following countries are only available as CFDs: Afghanistan, Angola, Australia, Belarus, Cote d'Ivoire, DR Congo, Republic of Congo, FYR Macedonia, Iraq, Liberia, Libya, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, Zimbabwe. 

Click here to learn more.